“Is there any reward for goodness except goodness?”
Qur’an [Ar-Rahman 55:60]

We administer awards and scholarships to recognize contributions and promote excellence in academia, research, education, community service, mentorship and quality improvement. These are made possible thanks to individual or corporate sponsorships, and generous donations of the MMAC membership.

Have questions about our awards or scholarships?

Contact Awards Committee

Research, Education or Community Service Scholarship

This annual scholarship encourages high school, undergraduate, medical students and resident physicians to pursue scholarly activities towards the improvement of their community in the areas of education, research or quality improvement.

Proposals are evaluated based on the strength of the proposal, innovation, impact, need, and feasibility.

Successful applicants are expected to present project findings upon completion and execute a knowledge dissemination strategy.

Submit your RECS Scholarship 2024 application here.

2023 RECS Scholarship Recipients:
– Nikki Rousta
– Taha Ismail
– Nadine Eltayeb

Previous RECS Scholarship Recipients

Mentor of the Year Award

This award recognizes members of the Muslim healthcare community that have been instrumental and exemplary mentors for one or more peers.

Nominees are evaluated based on the method, quality, duration and impact of the mentorship provided.

Award recipients have embodied effective mentorship through their availability & approachability, strong communication skills, honesty and objectivity, sincere interest in the mentee’s success, compassion, leadership, intellectual support, assistance with networking and/or career advancement and personal support.

Submit your nomination for MOY Award 2024 here.

2023 Mentor of the Year Award Recipient:
Dr. Shaimaa Helal

Previous Mentor of the Year Award Recipients:

2022 – Dr. Menal Huroy
2021 – Dr. Tayyab Khan
2020 – Dr. Mufti Asfandyar, Sara El-Sayed Ahmed
2019 – Dr. Ahmed Hassan